A different breed of soldiers

Soldiers

I remember this day like yesterday.

Everywhere was quiet. Our men’s formerly high shoulders lay low, sagging like a pair of beltless baggy trousers. Visible tension hung in the air. A tension so thick you could cut it with a knife. Peering through the tense evening air, I noticed our men. Their faces displayed variations of sorrow and for good reason.
Many metres ahead an army was coming. Three armies combined into one troop. The army was not coming to celebrate with us. Lol. Far from it, they were coming to destroy, annihilate and extirpate us. Every single one of us. Including our goats. They meant business.

A few feet away from my position, a few soldiers gathered round and prayed. I stood – totally dumbstruck looking ahead. There was no sign of anybody coming. I sighed. I had just accompanied the king to the altar and I pretty much can’t remember what thoughts went through my mind. I know though, they weren’t good.
A thought flickered in my mind like a laser dot in darkness. A slightly funny thought. The interesting thing about this particular battle we were about to fight was the fact that each army in the other troop was larger and bigger and ‘better’ than our army. That thought was funny despite the vivid fear that gripped us all. It was like smiling sheepishly unto death. Like my friend Abel would say “What do you want us to do now”. All hope was lost yet I stood, my face expressionless.

Our army men looked towards the altar – waiting for orders. Our king, J had gone to talk to the master – the nicest master I’ve ever met or spoken to.  He was literally in a class of His own. Second to none.

Despite our knowledge of the all-powerful King who our king had gone to talk to, we had our fears.
What if the master wasn’t on our side? I knew we had the victory if only He was on our side.

“Quick! Get the choir” – someone shouted cutting our already terrible thoughts short. “Ah. To play our funeral songs?” The person known to start the war chants said silently.
I loved our choir very much and loved to hear them praise God but this particular time, I thought it was not necessary.
“Make a formation! The choir stays in front. Our war men stay at the back”.
The king had spoken. In 15 minutes we had all gotten into formation. We may not have had the best war skills and tools but we were united and we held high respect for our King.

The choir started. We relunctantly joined and started singing. I could tell from ‘Noah Dashanti’s face that death did’t faze us no more. That was fast. The fastest mode transition I had seen in my entire life.

We proceeded gradually and steadily. Every step forward was one filled with hope. I knew then, beyond the shadow of doubt that I would take those same steps backwards after the war.
Taking our pace, we advanced towards the enemy.

*Pause*
If I was the enemy at this point and saw our army. I think I would pause and let my mind race with wonder. Could everybody just suddenly go mad like that? That would be a good time to flee I guess but the enemy didn’t even get to see us. Ah. They didn’t get to see us!!! Our master was the master-planner. He had the enemies’ master plan included in His plan.

*Play*

By the time we had taken about 100 paces towards the upward slope leading to the battle field, every one was energetic and full of enthusiasm. Every march forward was an accompaniment to the music we made. We stomped. We raised our voices. We raised our war tools to the sky as we praised the King of Heaven, the coolest master.

Getting to the slope, we paused. There was a scene in front. The other army’s (the three in one army) men bodies and war tools littered the valley. I stopped – trying to wonder if I was dreaming. I knew I wasn’t when I saw Noah Dashanti’s beaming face and I heard ‘The Lord has laid an ambush for our enemies.’ They seem to have killed each other. Every single one of them was dead.
Ah. Who was mad now?!

I waited. I just had to pause and think.
The sight was breath-taking. I remembered how we felt when this all started. I remember Dashanti’s face when we were told a three-in-one army was ahead. I looked at our enemies. Lifeless bodies.
“Praise be to the King of kings!” King J shouted. We repeated it cheerfully.
We just fought a battle without fighting a battle.
We just won without even throwing a spear.
All we did was praise God. That was all.
We celebrated, jubilated and enjoyed this victory. By far, the easiest victory we’ve ever had.
I slept that night with a name I had reserved for our army. I chose to call us ‘A different breed of soldiers’.
Needless to say, my sleep that night was the most peaceful.
I could sleep knowing the master had my back.
I have no idea what it is you’re going through – A tough marriage, terrible academic life, red bank accounts, a straying son, a threating exam. I have no idea.
What I do know is that a kind master exists and that He is the most amazing King ever. You do not need to fight your so-called battles.
Stand still and know that He is God. The battle is not yours. It is God’s.
Never forget – you belong to a different set of soldiers. We do not fight the way other people fight.
Stop complaining. Start praising.

If you want to join this army, you could just do it right now, wherever you are.  Just click here.  Please send me a mail if you did – sammyplexus@gmail.com. 🙂

 

2 Corinthians 10:3 (AMP) says “For though we walk in the flesh [as mortal men], we are not carrying on our [spiritual] warfare according to the flesh and using the weapons of man.”

2 Corinthians 10:3 (NIRV) says “I do live in the world. But I don’t fight my battles the way the people of the world do.”

Exodus 14:14 says The LORD shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.

Ye shall not need to fight in this battle: set yourselves, stand ye still, and see the salvation of the LORD with you, O Judah and Jerusalem: fear not, nor be dismayed; to morrow go out against them: for the LORD will be with you
Disclaimer – the above story is my own version of the story gotten in 2 Chronicles 20. It featured imaginary scenes and names. Please check the original story out.

Peace.

One thought on “A different breed of soldiers

Leave a Reply

