Oh you were inspired?

A number of weeks back, I was in one of my School web technician’s office. I had come for quite a number of things. Among those things was to know what made him so good in Computer Science. I wanted to know how his journey looked like.

So there I was in his office waiting for him to finish whatever he was doing on his Laptop. After waiting for quite a number of minutes, he looked up and was ready to talk. A little ready to talk. He obviously had plenty of work to do.

We started talking about my complaints and after some time, we drifted into one of the main reasons i was there. How he became so great in Computing Science.

He talked about his devotion, passion towards computers. He did not have many of the opportunities we have now. He didn’t even know how a computer worked for a bit too long while. He had to use his friend’s. We talked for a while and I left his office.

Oh boy, I was inspired. Very inspired. I was going to apply all he had said and i would be a very good Computer Scientist(by the way, i am going to be a very great CSist. :)).

But, in a few weeks, the momentum had calmed down. I was not as inspired as I had been and after a few more days, I let the whole inspiration die down.

Very many times, I have been this inspired and after a while, the inspiration does not account to much. I remember a time I saw some people shouting. They had just finished a little Christian service and they were obviously joyous and maybe inspired too.
I remember thinking, “It would just take a little while and all these “gra gra” would end”.

But, it does not have to be that way. We do not have to continue the endless cycle for being inspired for a while and then looking for something to inspire us.

We have to be self-motived.

One very nice way to actually convert inspiration to action is action. That’s it. Action.

Confucius once said “When it is obvious the goals can not be reached, don’t adjust the goals. Adjust the action steps.”

Make it a priority not to let the cycle continue. You want to get somewhere. Get somewhere! Do not wait to be ‘overly inspired’.

inspire main

“Thinking is easy, acting is difficult, and to put one’s thoughts into action is the most difficult thing in the world.” – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

The Greatest book(The Bible) says in James 2:17 “Faith without works is dead”.

“What is the use of being inspired if it does not lead to action?” -Samuel Agbede

inspiremain2

3 thoughts on “Oh you were inspired?

Leave a Reply

